Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

In Vino Veritas

And so these words are violently

wrenched out of their comfort zone:

the air is so thick with rancor

that the rose on the desk withered.


Somewhere away from here

in a place I have yet to be

men in breeches and women in dirndls

waltz to their hearts’ delight, bringing

the season’s worth of freshly-picked

grapes under their bare feet into pulp.

Laughter is everywhere as the people

that have come to witness the revelry

provide the calypso, wildly clapping and

chanting, as though a sacrifice is

undertaking, the dark juice that has been

squeezed out the spilt blood of the one

who had it easy breaking me.


Opening my eyes I find my

right arm reaching for that faraway place–

a sneer crossing my face,

a strong taste of wine on my lips.

4 responses

  1. NV

    Everytime I am reading something you write, its like I am on the doorstep of my thoughts.

    You write beautifully.

    21/12/2010 at 00:46

  2. I LOVE how you pull the wine stomping into a cermony ending with this ” the dark juice that has been squeezed out the spilt blood of the one who had it easy breaking me”…only one word for it – INCREDIBLE!

    21/12/2010 at 10:45

  3. Thank you very much for the comment 🙂

    21/12/2010 at 14:05

Leave a Reply

