Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Beliefs

What is the truth?
Is it what I believe in,
or is it what you believe in?
Does it have to be revealed,
or perhaps we’re better off
as inhumane beings?
Out of fear, my faith is
unwavering, for if not
I’d be greatly hunted a witch.
Why is Christ weeping,
and Buddha laughing?
I am finally here, but
God is still missing.
This is a dream
I’d only sleep from
a concrete illusion
that I’m in control
They say I’m only a burden,
so fit I have to be if I wish
to survive the prejudiced time and tide.
The fetus inside the womb, aborted
because “That’s Life”
I myself had a purpose:
I was supposed to turn left, but
freewill led me to the right path.
Have to be practical
For I am in the Now
Even if I just want to
streak into the wild
I’d be brought back subsequently
for the formal funeral.
Faith is to believe in heaven, and
reason is to believe in
hell being a prey of circumstance;
I owe the powers of my brain
to the Creator, so I must be
ditching logic when I
surrender to destiny, and
at the same time pray every night
for divine intervention.
The truth is out there,
the truth shall set us free
But really, am I only romanticizing
that I have a soul, denying
that this soul is in fact just
the information-processing activity of my mind?
This is it, seize it
Embody the free spirit of
ignorant bliss
You’ll get further “high-souled”
only because you’re educated.
Artcissism.
Universal Goal my ass
for only you will advance
thanks to you rich dad
I am not afraid of death,
much less of dying
I am just not ready yet
til I know where I’m going
Most probably nowhere, and
I will just really be reduced to
being a smorgasbord for maggots
or adulteration
in some great waters.
A nail in the coffin,
if I get killed an aetheist
The rest is history, though
they were never really part of it
The truth is what
you are plundered of,
still you dare not seek justice
for what you are Told.

On the glass, looking
Out the window,
by the rope,
hanging

7 responses

  1. blackvelvetsea

    Great piece. Gets you thinking. Well, the more we seek the truth eventually it will be revealed. We just have to be patient and observing. Very well thought.

    10/01/2011 at 07:04

  2. Only you can answer those questions you pose…for each of us truth is different. Your truth and my truth may not be one and the same, but neither is right or wrong…leave much confusion in life, doesn’t it?! Excellent piece of work!

    10/01/2011 at 08:47

    • Thanks for the comment.

      This piece was actually inspired by this guy who firmly believes that he has found the Absolute Truth by reading countless esoteric writings and travelling. I just got alarmed because this guy takes offense whenever his views would be contested by others who have differing beliefs.

      There’s this line I heard before that I have since subscribed to, “I may not agree with you, but I will fight to the death for your right to express yourself.”

      10/01/2011 at 15:08

  3. This was one of my favorite peices out of the few I have read, but plan on reading many more. You have a unique mind.

    12/01/2011 at 09:19

  4. Very nice–

    01/02/2011 at 18:16

Leave a Reply

