Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Unrequited

Water: It makes up
more than half of the world,

but the land of my friends and
neighbors remain in drought
as deserts.

I fetch pails after pails of it
from the well deep within to deliver

and smash as many hydrants for
every thirst to be rained on

but nothing ever seems to be enough
even after my exhausted efforts.

Water is everywhere but
I’m just a lonesome soldier

who only wants to see
the light of day in return:

The slighted oceans rampaging
way beyond the shores,

the torrential floods drowning
everything that’s on its way to
dry season

are only few of the curiosities that
I get for what I do not bargain for.


10 responses

  1. suicideman

    You truly are a poet.

    Thank you.

    – Phoenix

    17/01/2011 at 10:03

    • Thank you, Phoenix.

      Being called a poet kind of makes me cringe but, yes, thank you.

      17/01/2011 at 19:17

      • suicideman

        Why do you cringe? The comment is not false flattery. You truly do have a way with words. I feel see your words only as the surface. I hear your thoughts through what they say. But I feel your soul by the way you say it.

        That, to me, is a poet. 🙂

        – Phoenix

        17/01/2011 at 21:35

  2. Great imagery. I’ll add you to my list of reads.

    17/01/2011 at 21:15

  3. To Phoenix,

    Yes I believe it’s not false flattery. It’s just that maybe I’m not good at handling compliments. I may have larger-than-life thoughts and ideas but, I hate to admit this, I’m a humble soul.

    17/01/2011 at 21:56

  4. suicideman

    Then you are close to ideal Little Miss. And a poet. Your words of “larger-than-life thoughts and ideas but … a humble soul” reflect one of my favourite quotes.

    “A man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s heaven for?” – Robert Browning

    I’m curious of why you would hate to admit being a humble soul though. It’s a beautiful thing to be capable of great thoughts and things without being consumed by hubris.

    – Phoenix

    17/01/2011 at 22:02

  5. I hate to admit it because there are a lot of fakes out there who claim they’re “humble”; I don’t want to be associated with them. Let my humble actions speak louder than my words instead. It’s more heartfelt that way I guess.

    17/01/2011 at 22:13

  6. I really enjoyed this poem.

    25/01/2011 at 05:42

Leave a Reply

