Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Own

I keep looking out the window

For some kind of intimation

Of how such a bird’s eye view

Can not see the bigger picture–

Beyond this papaya tree that

Has grown tall and  bountiful;

Beyond the familiar groaning

Sound of the ailing river;

Beyond the impenetrable fortress

Of that lovely transient that

Passes by outside each afternoon.

But you’ll say, there’s got to be

More to the act of  yearning yonder

Of reaching and grabbing

The uncontainable and then

Calling it my own, of distance

Closing in to serve me using a

Silver spoon. But I say,

That’s what I’d do if I were you:

Swing the endless rope around over

My head, then hurl its end hook

At the blue moon with all my strength.

2 responses

  1. Brilliant. I am thinking of something here, but it may not be the real meaning of the poem. Whatever it is, the depth is there. Let me swim in your consciousness.

    31/01/2011 at 15:09

Leave a Reply

