Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Hannah

Hannah, my friend, have you tried

feeling the dots to the words of poetry

to at least get a feel of how it is to be

at the center of tectonic plates shifting?

True its profundity could only addle you more,

but it’s really up to your mind’s eye if

you want them to provide you a clearer picture.

Oh, this may sound horrible, but how could you

possibly have a pigment of imagination to begin with?

You could only hear smiles and read between the lies,

and nothing ever more breaks my heart.

So what’s it really like for you not to be me,

me who has never really seen anything?

Not to take anything away from you,

you dreaming only in sounds and sensations

and me in figments you have no idea of

but I am weeping not only for your lack of vision

but most of all for your charming first few missions

if ever the window finally opens to set free your soul:

To witness a rainbow in the sky, for you consider

them to represent the people’s true colors;

To see the sun gliding down behind the mountains,

while all along it’s gliding up some place else;

And to watch the rainfall gathering water on a leaf,

as the rest of the world fusses over the next tsunami

with its blinded way of seeing.


4 responses

  1. Mihir Vatsa

    Couldn’t completely understand the first time I read it but after reading the tag- Braille, everything exactly fell into place. Good.

    22/02/2011 at 01:29

    • There was too much employment of wordplay and double meanings in this, so good thing I tagged it with Braille.

      Thanks.

      23/02/2011 at 00:07

  2. Aaaaah, yes, I hear you! And I think I can relate to your feelings… sometimes I wish I could do a Vulcan mind-meld with a few folks. Not to “teach” or show them anything so much as to see if they’ll realize they’re part of the lessons! Thank you so much for pointing me to this one!

    05/05/2011 at 18:19

    • Thank you for reading, Ms Leslee. I don’t know why your drawing reminded me so much of my friend Hannah but yeah, hope this piece did not disappoint 🙂

      05/05/2011 at 23:50

Leave a Reply

