Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

BE CURIOUS,
NOT JUDGMENTAL.

I read this somewhere a few days ago.

Very few and simple words, yet it’s been speaking to my core.

I’ve always known that somewhere in me I hold this saying too, it’s just that events and factors that happen beyond my control lead me to take sides and be clouded.

This saying has been making me think about a lot of things.

It’s making me reevaluate my views of the world in general.

I can’t agree more with this saying, yet I’m reminded of the things that I’m not in agreement with.

I have realized now that this is the reason why world peace will never be achieved.

Because people are intrinsically different from each other;  if there is one thing that we all have in common it is that we are all hard to please, and we are all too selfish to pave way to others.

Not that pleasing everyone is a sane goal to aim for; even soul mates have dissimilarities.

It really boils down to understanding and respect, nothing more.

Because to close our minds on what makes other people’s boats float is to sink with our egos, really.

After all we only want to be accepted for our own flaws and ways of life.

“Do not do unto others what you do not want to be done unto you.”

Maybe the reason why we feel lonely in this overcrowded world is because we are too caught up with our little personal versions of it.

I have my biases, no doubt.

But I don’t disagree on things just for the sake of being obnoxious or a vexer.

I could assure you that my vehement opinions are coming from well-meaning intentions.

This is what you call righteous indignation.

That my personal reservations are not worth any war, because they are my opinions, and you have your own opinions. Now let’s talk.

“I may not agree with you, but I will fight to the death for your right to express yourself.”

Am I saying that I’m understanding racists, and respecting people who do drugs?

No. But I’ll do the best that I can to enlighten them.

Even the Libyan president Muammar al-Gaddafi, with all willpower no, I’m not going to act on blind fury and just blow up his face with mortar if given the chance; killing him would only make me no different from him.

The rule is you do not condescend and get carried away by your emotions when faced by inhumans; what you do is get together your Friends to bring these inhumans to proper forum and ultimately, real punishment that the law assigns.

Haters gonna hate, civilization is overrated.

But the mere fact that we can think for ourselves means we have a great power that’s very real in our hands.

And along with this great power comes great responsibility.

It’s time to get our judgments together.

Let’s exchange ideas and compromise.

Because to be curious is not enough.

4 responses

  1. “Once we know people’s stories, we feel compassion instead of judgment.” – Mary Manin Morrisey.

    No idea who this person is, just read this somewhere and it stuck with me. I try, hard, to remember that we all are what we are because of what has shaped us throughout our lives. This doesn’t mean that I like everyone, but when I catch myself being judgmental, I try to bear this phrase in mind.
    And, as a teacher, I try to choose texts and activities that will help my kids see that we are all different and we must not attack each other because of that. Teenagers grow surrounded by so much hatred and violence, that, if we aren’t careful, we’ll soon have a world filled by shoot-first-ask-questions-later people.
    I really liked your post.

    24/02/2011 at 03:14

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      I just believe that people who are bestowed with enough enlightenment have the responsibility to the take the unenlightened ones out of the dark. For people to be educators in their own little way would be ideal.

      I have so much respect for you, being a teacher. For me teachers are one of the few heroes of society. Keep it up.

      24/02/2011 at 11:02

  2. I have been saying in my own mind for a long time now that we humans are wretches and we can never truly improve ourselves. so what’s the point in trying.
    We can change almost any aspect of our lives if we want to but we cant change who we are.
    Great statement here

    24/02/2011 at 13:47

    • Everything is a choice. And because of this I think there is a point in trying. I wish I could just give up and give in to the degenerate side of human nature, but seeing other people who are willing to die for what is right makes me emboldened to speak up, and for those who can’t speak for themselves.

      Thank you for the input.

      24/02/2011 at 14:45

Leave a Reply

