Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Interconnected

It’s always easy to not care and just mind your own business. It’s always convenient to be preoccupied with your own dreams and aspirations and leave other people on their own resources to figure out their own lives. Because living your own life is more than enough, and to add getting stressed over other people’s affairs to your daily mental chores would simply be way too mind-boggling.

And anyway you already expect them to know better to be able to fend for themselves and not screw up; and afterall it’s not as if they have not been warned of the repercussions that come out of wrong decisions.

But it’s impossible to not care. At least on my part. I may be messianic in that sense, but I just can’t be okay while other people are having heavy hearts. To be genuinely concerned is one thing, but to go out of your way to make a change in someone else’s life for the better is another thing. Unfortunately for those who advise me to be wise I tend to be not only genuinely concerned. And maybe the reason why I am like this is because I myself know how it is to need people who are willing to go out of their way to lighten my burden.

This is why I find it wrong to have visions only for myself. Lately I’ve been fine-tuning my goals in life and made a pledge to myself that whatever success I further gain in the future I am not going to be the only who’s going to bask in it. I’ve made my goals holistic to others. Because although I’ve been told to be wary of people and that it’s not my business to carry their weights, to think that most of these weights were brought about by them deliberately, I don’t see any other way to be myself.

I will not not help just because it’s the painless way out.

It’s not to say, however, that it does not make me wonder from time to time if selflessness for the sake of another person or more so for the greater good of humanity is really practical. Is it really a moral obligation to be constantly concerned of the fate of complete strangers?

I can’t speak on behalf of everyone, but here’s my take on it: the reason why I want to extend my hand and reach out is not because it is expected of me, or because it’s a moral obligation, but because I just feel it’s natural. It feels right to me be able to do what I can if that would mean making a life breathe a little bit easier.

Perhaps balance and prioritization are the operative words. I should know when to limit my generosity and step back from the line of being “human”. I should think first of my proverbial preservation before jumping over other people’s backyards.

It makes me wonder why certain people can one day be happy, and the next day cry that they are downtrodden and say that nobody cares for them. We have to put ourselves in other people’s shoes in order to be blessed back. We have to have a clear worldview.

We are all interconnected. Selfishness has no place in this world. To back each other up is the only way to live.

2 responses

  1. “I should think first of my proverbial preservation before jumping over other people’s backyards.”
    – is one of the two of my favourite lines in this outpouring of yours. It is indeed hard to determine when we should jump and when we should just sit back and watch. Frankly, most of us follow their proverbial correctness and resemble theater/cinema audience just staring from their comfy, warm, secure locations to chew on someone’s bad fate.
    It’s easier to be blind these days. 
    Almost as if we, passive spectators managed to develop remarkable ability to look without seeing. 
    What we did forget though, there’s no such thing like: looking without being seen.
    For those I can only quote your last line:
    “Selfishness has no place in this world.”
    Ideally…

    Om Shanti     

    26/02/2011 at 17:38

Leave a Reply

