Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Illumination

It’s not what I’m told
but what I know;

It’s not what I own
but what I owe;

It’s not where I’m from
but where I’ll go;

It’s not what I hold
but what I let go;

It’s not that I lost
but why I fought;

It’s not where I wronged
but what I solve;

It’s not what I’m called
but what I’ve really done;

It’s not who I love
but out of it what I’ve become;

It’s not what I chose
but why did I do so;

It’s not what I’ll die of
but what I live for

8 responses

  1. Neutral Universe

    Life, oh, life.

    19/03/2011 at 23:29

  2. I love this poem; it’s so well written, and expresses so many truths of life. It’s something people should have in mind all the time, and they wouldn’t complicate their lives so much.

    20/03/2011 at 00:50

    • When I write something as truthful to my core as this I tend to forget that there will be people who’ll get to read it. Having people like you appreciating it is very humbling. Thanks very much.

      20/03/2011 at 10:34

  3. indeed, you are already outside the tunnel…there you see the big difference.. and it’s not just an ordinary distinction between the light and the absence of light. there is something abysmal that you alone can fathom… and you just did…
    -A BIG SMILE 🙂 (i don’t know how to put it on a smiley though, toinks!hehe)

    20/03/2011 at 01:38

    • Had no choice but to drag myself out of the tunnel, you know. So much work has piled up and I can no longer afford to languish in the very self-absorbed ways of post-surgical torment 😀

      20/03/2011 at 10:49

  4. These words speak to me beyond any languages. Nice little thing, yet so powerful and packed with truth. Prescribed condensed dose (pill) of life’s wisdom. You could be a pharmacist 🙂

    22/03/2011 at 04:15

    • Thanks, Matt. Although I don’t think I’d like to be a “pharmacist” (motivational speaker). I am just really hoping that in living my truths I am able to inspire others to discover and live their own truths. 🙂

      22/03/2011 at 10:12

Leave a Reply

