Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

A Love Letter to the Brokenhearted World

Japan
I know that no amount of words I express here will make you feel better. In fact I’m sure that this won’t even reach you and would only get dismissed as nothing but an ephemeral surge of sympathetic instinct. But I’m doing this with no delusion of receiving recognition for it whatsoever. I just want to get it off my chest how it crushes my chest to be here in the comfort of my home, behind a notebook and not be able to do anything substantial to make at least a life of yours breathe a little easier in the midst of unspeakable tragedy.

If my compassion doesn’t mean anything to you now at least allow me then to put across my admiration for how you handle disaster with so much discernment and organization. And most of all, let me salute you, for in the face of nature’s wrath you showed the world how there is so much to be accomplished in being calm, which I could only hope many nations will epitomize. In the wake of rampaging waters, felled structures, adulterated atmosphere and growing death toll you have no boys crying wolf and none of your people ripped off (looted) others folks who have already been ripped off by this tragedy to make the situation far worse – an unheard-of in many other countries. I know condolences from me are not enough, because all you need now are proactive participation. I know. And it is because of what your nation has suffered that I have come to only confirm my goal of devoting a great part of me in doing what I can to lighten the load on the shoulders of the burdened. I may not be there now to be able to physically help you and look for your missing loved ones and get you out of the hazard of a nuclear crisis but take my word: one day I’ll be there and in my own little way, and I’ll do something for you.

In the meantime, you are the land of the rising sun for nothing, Japan.

Libya
It’s hard for me to fathom that war still persists in your region. I am sorry if that sounds uneducated and even haughty, it’s just that in a time wherein everything seems to be modern and information is widely-disseminated already, hence a far-reaching and scopic awareness and understanding among the human race, why is it that compromise for the greater good remains to be out of the question? The “technicalities” that brought your leader to be steadfast on his position has left thousands of your people dead and have displaced the normal flow of your everyday normalcy.

I wish putting an end on your being torn is as easy as demanding your leader of 4 decades to step down from the throne and succeed at it. But the problems won’t cease once he exited the presidency, if ever; your issues are culturally deep-rooted that need a period of redefining and enlightenment. I don’t claim to know the perfect ingredients for curing social illnesses, but I believe that if only we’ll go back to being human in the purest sense then blood will stop spilling unnecessarily.

That may sound too idealistic, but how else would you rebuild yourself if you’re not going to shoot for the moon?

Libya, I am one with you. I am especially one with your women and children, for they are the real ones that are in the throes of great peril caused by your men. Middle East, I wish to be able to see in my lifetime that your countries are finally in harmony with their differences and have equal opportunity for both men and women. With respect for every gender, religion, skin color and opinion comes true world peace.

New Zealand
It’s almost been a month since a city of yours, Christchurch, was brought down by an earthquake that killed 240 people, and because of “bigger”calamities that followed suit the enormity and heft of your plight has been side-swept. But I never forgot you, even during my own personal struggle, land of the long white cloud. Behind my dignified facade I have been in anguish for the demise of the unsuspecting and innocent of this tragic occurrence.

There were 8 Filipinos that got killed in this powerful tremor. All of them young people and had their whole lives ahead of them, and just like that they were taken away. Weeks after what happened to them images of their loved ones on news grieving are still clear in my head. Your tragedy hit home not only because there were compatriots of mine that were among the casualties, but also because I have an older sister in another country, and I myself have always had you in my itenerary. My sister and I could have very well been part of this calamity, God forbid.

These words cannot measure the kind of woe I have in seeing you crumble to your knees and being unable to get up because of the unprecedented destruction that befell your people. And so out of this I promise instead: that whatever little superpower I have now and will have in the future I am ready to exhaust if it would mean more lives will be saved and inspired. I know this sounds larger-than-life, and even megalomaniac as many would accuse. That it’s too late for me to proclaim these things, after all the victims have long been buried either formally or under the debris. But please look at the brighter side of things: lives and livelihood may have been taken away, and for that I know there will be no possible words of consolation available for quite a while. But I am your friend, and with all the love I have in me I will do everything I can to be a better individual and stir other people to be the same in memorial of you, and the rest of the other nations whose hearts have been broken by both natural and man-made tragedies.

7 responses

  1. Trystam Cylderram

    I feel the same way as you. I barely have enough for me to survive lest I can’t do my part to support people who are in a worse condition. It’s unbelievable how slowly the world is falling apart, for we have always have had these disasters,yet instead of learning from past mistakes or preparing ourselves for these disasters, we continue our lives as if nothing has happened and only a few of us who would love to help have our hands tied. But the courage for us to speak up and open the eyes to those who can help make a difference.

    About your writing….beautifully done! I love your diction and choice of words. The way in which you elongate your sentences is quite elegant and instantly got to me. I’m looking forward to read more from you. For now, all we can do is hope that those who have enough power to change the world take action, although even if people like us are not able to do much, if we gather enough believers such as us, our might can be strong enough.

    21/03/2011 at 23:55

    • Thanks for your input Trystam. The challenge in talking these things is walking them, and through writing them down I am able to step myself closer to the beginning of the journey.

      The way I write is actually really weird and unconventional. I hope I’m making it up with WHAT I write though πŸ˜€

      22/03/2011 at 09:42

  2. I don’t know, Libya and the Middle East seems pretty hopeless at this point. (The social science geek in me is dying to make a long and pretty pointless debate..hehe…)But hey, it’s nice to know that some people (like you) are still hoping for something better for the world. πŸ™‚

    22/03/2011 at 01:15

    • Hey I’d like to hear your thoughts. I am sure they’re learned and thought-provoking (unlike mine which is mostly based on emotions) so I hope one of these days you share them. πŸ™‚

      22/03/2011 at 09:51

      • Oh wow. That would never fit in here. πŸ™‚ But yeah, I think that would be an interesting conversation for another day. I don’t know if one could call my views thought-provoking, but I think it comes from an impersonal view of the world, which unfortunately translates to a seemingly heartless one. 😦 Someday, I’m sure we’ll have a chance to talk about it. πŸ™‚

        22/03/2011 at 11:53

  3. I applaud you, Michelle. Your faith in humankind and your willingness to help are admirable.
    I feel terribly sorry for what’s happening in Japan and Libya, and I’m trying to reconcile myself with the human race and believe we have the ability to put aside our egos and work for the general good. It’s a slow process, but focusing on the best we have is helping.

    22/03/2011 at 11:16

    • Please don’t applaud me. I can understand if others see helping as extraordinary, but for me it is only natural.

      Thanks, anyway. Paying it forward and doing random acts of kindness – I hope you could add them to your daily dealings with life. πŸ™‚

      22/03/2011 at 19:04

Leave a Reply

