Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Burning Times

I’ve always been fascinated by the history of Christianity. I am particularly interested in the evil side of its success in becoming the dominant religion (Roman Catholicism) of the world. And because of this I’m a bit well-read when it comes to writings about Inquisition, Reformation and, most of all, the Great Witch Hunt.

I am no heretic; in fact I believe that there could not possibly be no God. It’s the men of the cloth and their blind followers who claim to be godly when in fact they’re nothing but chauvinistic pigs that I have a great deal of problem with. So while it could be true that there were strains of folks during the Middle Ages who defied the rise of Christianity through the practice of witchcraft, among other things, I’ve always had this lingering feeling that it was only used as an excuse to cleanse the society of women by burning them at the stake as witches.

This is going to be a long discussion, women having been put down and tyrranized all throughout history by men, so I’m not going to the gory details anymore, and anyway I think I’ve written about my thoughts on this back on my first few posts on this blog. Let’s just suffice it to say now that I am not afraid to stand up for and identify myself with something, especially when I know that it is only being ganged up by fully-equipped, powerful scare tactics.

In my past place in the sun

in a time immemorial from now

when chivalry was never really around

I held a damned, mortal belief

that I resolved to guard with my life.

So deep in the dead of the night

in the heart of the woods

together with my lovely, wicked pals

who like me chose to be ugly and unpopular

I’d don my pointy, mischievous hat

and dress up in black, black, black

and then we’d chirp and hopscotch

’round a cauldron wherein cooking up

were herbs and some funny shrubs

which after became the salves

that we’d smear on our bodies, besoms:

Whereupon we came flying with Diana,

the goddess of the moon, hunting, wild animals

and of us the heretics and pagans!

In the nightsky we’d dance in trance

in transit with the supernaturals and mutants

horrifying to those who suck

the dicks of their man-made gods

10 responses

  1. I remember watching this show on TV about celebs and their roots, and SJ Parker’s grandma was accused of witchcraft up in Salem, Massachusetts. Your post reminded me of that!

    24/03/2011 at 00:41

    • Ah, the holier-than-thous. They think they can make themselves look good by making other people look bad huh? Tsk.

      24/03/2011 at 13:42

  2. Mihir Vatsa

    What an ending!! Awesome.

    24/03/2011 at 01:44

    • I actually expect violent reactions for that ending, but then I remember that nobody reads me. 😀 Thanks, Mihir.

      24/03/2011 at 13:48

  3. Amen, sista! I think your most recent trial has affected you in the best way, Michelle. Your writing is every day more cunning, cutting, and catching. I absolutely love this poem, from beginning to end.
    This topic in particular touches me closely. I grew up in a catholic household, but since my adolescence I didn’t feel identified with that religion. It was a long path from that day on, until I found a set of beliefs I felt comfortable with. I call myself Pagan now, and I believe in a Goddess and a God that are many Goddesses and many Gods to different people. Nature is sacred to me, and my sunsets are better than a hundred masses as far as I’m concerned. Back in the day I studied Wicca, but now I prefer to keep my practices simple. I believe in the rule of three (everything you do will come back three times) and in what Wiccans call the Wiccan rede, basically “An Ye Harm None, Do What Ye Will.”
    My mother’s priest prays every Saturday for pagans who don’t know god. I pray for people who are blind enough to think their god is the only and the best one. Fundamentalists, in every aspect of life, cause the greatest harm to this world.
    Thanks for this declaration of support. All the sisters who died just for being women are grateful to you today.

    24/03/2011 at 07:27

    • If it means getting accused a witch myself for voicing my support for the women who got persecuted during the Burning Times, then sure. Bring it on.

      I believe that God is not an old man who will smite us for having thinking brains of our own. I believe that as long as we don’t do anyone harm we are good to go. And most of all, I believe that the God we all refer to as the All-powerful is in fact that Good within each and every one of us that is always waiting to be put into action.

      Good for you for standing up for your own beliefs when it comes to talk of religion. I am one with you on that. Sign me up.

      24/03/2011 at 14:17

  4. Although I’m a Roman Catholic myself, I do think women should be ordained as priests. First for equality, second for practical reason…. women can be eternally happy celibates.

    25/03/2011 at 08:46

    • Hmm. Female priests to be eternally happy celibates. Sex is never a bad thing; it is in fact an integral part of the development of every person’s well-being.

      Balance in everything is the key, I believe 😉

      25/03/2011 at 13:31

  5. Noel Cabangon is so talented. Filipino pride indeed.

    03/04/2011 at 13:00

    • I believe you meant this comment for the Haven post? Anyway I agree with you on Noel Cabangon.

      03/04/2011 at 18:39

Leave a Reply

