Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Kanlungan (Haven) by Noel Cabangon

Whenever I think of what music video I want to feature here, I make sure that it would not only have audio but also visuals to speak of. So if what I fancy to post happens to be only music to my ears but its video not that visually-stimulating, I do not give up and try to look for an alternative video that someone might have created to the same tune.

I guess I’ve been lucky to find great version videos of the music I like.

This one is another example. Kanlungan has no official music video, so on Youtube I looked and kept my fingers crossed for a version video that I would like and, lo and behold, I came across with this. Although initially I was thinking twice because this is another slideshow about nature and it’s somewhat similar to the Chicane video I’ve previously featured, I still decided to go for it. Heck, I love nature, so what. And anyway, I like how the simplicity of this video makes me focus on the imageries that this song is evoking in me.

This song, sigh. Filipino music is imbued with songs about love, but if I were to be asked what is my favorite I’d go the less traveled path and have to say this one by the great artist/songwriter/singer/theater director Noel Cabangon. The lyrics are pretty given as to why (poetic and gut-wrenching in its Tagalog wordings), but it’s really more of the overall melody that captures me and drenches my spirit in righteous melancholy (I’m a sap for unhappy love endings and what-could have-beens).

This video is by Artlengel. Check out their Youtube channel for more of their wonderful uploads.

KANLUNGAN (HAVEN)

Chorus
Chance is circumstantial
Can yesterday be brought back?

Do you still remember
When the two of us first met
A time of innocence
In the presence of the flowers and plants
That’s where we started
To dream and make poetry

Do you still remember
The heart shape I carved on the mango tree
And the Gumamela flower I offered
By the shore holding each other’s hands
Free just like the birds
Our memory of our yesterday

Refrain 1
The trees and the plants
Are  inherent to our nostalgia
In the passing of the time
Why do they have to fade along with it

Chance is circumstantial
Can yesterday be brought back?

Now that you’ve come back
And just like me, your longing
To see our old haven
The home of our poetry and dreams
Now it is gone

Where else to look for it

Refrain 2
Time passes by
Inherent to our nostalgia
The trees and the plants
Why do they have to come to pass?

Chance is circumstantial
Can yesterday be brought back?

5 responses

  1. I like this one too. I heard it first in the 90’s when Noel was still with Buklod band (socially relevant songs/lyrics were written by this band) . Melody is simple and common yet so unique. Words are so vivid and yet so deep – it simply reflects the Paradox of life. This song became popular among leftist and those extreme left who took revolutionary option. This became the love song for revolutionary lovers before this song went to the mainstream after it was used on McDonalds’ advertisement. This is one of the songs I practiced on guitar …and finished it this time. 🙂 Have you heard of Rosas ng Digma? It’s an album made by leftist musicians and it resembles more or less the kind of music this Kanlungan have. I don’t know if it is still available at UP.
    And Noel is a very nice guy too. 🙂

    26/03/2011 at 18:20

    • Thanks for the info, melskiens. I never knew that this song was popular among the leftists or that it had revolutionary connections, although I’ve always known Noel to be an activist. I agree that he is a very nice guy. Very talented and principled man. His song Mabuting Pilipino, which he sang during Aquino’s sworn in, should be the new Philippine National Anthem.

      26/03/2011 at 19:17

  2. I like the melody. Over at the Filipino supemarket here in my neck of the woods, they play music that is embarassingly awful…. my mother says it’s some kind of a joke song … the song is Mag exercise tayo tuwing umaga…. it’s terrible…=_=

    02/04/2011 at 01:26

    • Mag-exercise Tayo Tuwing Umaga is not that embarassingly awful… 🙂 I think more than anything it’s a hilarious and entertaining Filipino novelty song from the 70s.

      02/04/2011 at 09:51

      • Ah! It’s really meant to be hilarious? hmmm, that’s okay then. ^o^ Coz i overheard a non-Filipino shopper said something like, ” what kind of a song is that?

        02/04/2011 at 10:59

Leave a Reply

