Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Rose Madder

There is so much pain involved

in the creation of beauty.

But since when were you formed

out of the man’s ribs?

You’ve been carving niches on stones

since the day you were conceived

to make mountains move

and seas stir

with all that you were meant to be.

So why couldn’t you just be a wild rose

without being cut and put in a vase

as their trophy?

Why do they have to take the distinction

of being the soldiers who drew  blood

for your own victory?

Your being a woman serves as your sword

every time you go out there in the

battlefield

where you are disarmed of your thorns

and put so low for wearing your

scarlet, velvety skin

where you are made to kneel before their guns

and swallow the bullets they don’t have the balls

to take in

But even if this fight for a revolution

once again comes to falter

and these lush petals of yours get robbed

of their combative glory

A new field of yours will always blossom

long after you’ve withered:

I myself am now a red rose in full bloom – I won’t

get myself picked.

12 responses

  1. Mihir Vatsa

    Hmmm.

    29/03/2011 at 18:53

  2. Hooray for women’s rights! 🙂 Is there perhaps any link to RH? 😉

    29/03/2011 at 18:58

    • Well now that you’ve mentioned it, it kind of makes sense. Do you happen to be in favor of the RH bill, by the way?

      29/03/2011 at 19:15

      • Yes, in fact, I am. I’m a semi-staunch Catholic, but when it comes to political and economic issues, I have a different take on things. I guess I’m a bit “bi-polar” that way. 🙂

        29/03/2011 at 21:44

  3. Been there, said that, albeit not with your rhetoric. This poem is great, Michelle, so powerful and well-written. I love every single line.

    29/03/2011 at 22:13

    • Hey thanks for the nice words 😉
      I just really have this bad habit of making my life harder and putting into other words my opinions that could otherwise be expressed in few, simple sentences 🙂

      29/03/2011 at 22:31

      • I don’t see how that would be a bad habit, Michelle. Few and simple sentences don’t always work in getting messages across. There’s nothing better than the passion of art to achieve that, and I should know it, I’ve spent the last five years studding literature.

        30/03/2011 at 09:06

  4. Excellent poem.
    Perfect final line.
    you do right to resist picking.

    30/03/2011 at 00:38

  5. Grand remark Sunsetseasoul (I wish I knew short for that name) no reason whatsoever for expressing ourselves in archaic ( read: primitive ) way to put the message across. We are not sign posts, manuals, cooking instructions nor this eye-nirvana blog is the Facebook, tweeter or the you (she) tube.
    We here to complicate, to make an effort. And the beauty lies deep in our heads, in a mix-match place, where the reader’s creation begins and the message sees the light of a new day.

    You know how much I like your bad habits Michelle.

    “Poetry is the best words in their best order.”
    Said once Bayron.

    31/03/2011 at 06:05

    • Lol, Matt. I was just trying to be coy because I’m not good at handling compliments. I actually believe that being “unartful” with the way you express yourself is nothing short of being a robot.

      31/03/2011 at 10:23

Leave a Reply

