Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

The Flag

The true test begins

after the highest mountain

has been conquered and

the flag has been planted:

where else do you go and

what else to accomplish?

How do you outdo yourself after

the destination has been reached?

I’ve measured the distance

between my mind and my hands

and where the lines on my palms

have brought the world so far.

I’ve traced my veins on my arms,

and it led me to discover a map

to which I’m destined to shed blood.

Every journey that is taken on

is because of, in search of,

and in validation of love, and

to expect something in return

is to defeat the purpose of having

dreamed with all your soul and heart.

It’s the trip not the station,

the journey up I’ve come to chart, and

if it means going down afterwards and

finding myself disowned by the land

that I’ve carried to move forward–

my feet will still be kept on the ground.


4 responses

  1. I wrote this long comment, but I changed my mind about putting it here. All I can say is that I hope you get all that you want out of this life.

    01/04/2011 at 06:21

    • I wrote a long reply to that long comment of yours, and you know where I put it. 😀

      Thanks.

      01/04/2011 at 23:24

  2. Keep on journeying… especially the journey within…

    02/04/2011 at 02:32

Leave a Reply

