Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

The Ember

A lambent ember, it is.
In the midst of the ruthless gloam
it’s alive, yet visibly struggling
in the cradle of coldness that
threatens to put it out.

It rose from the ashes, of an empire
that had been brought down
by the great arsons of time, and
from one place to another
it is flurried about by the heartless winds

for almost a quarter of a century now.
Yet what is failed to cover by the Shadow
in throwing the ember’s way maelstroms
the passion gets only more incensed,
the night becomes intense with
the formation of smoke halos in the air.

Drifting above a town asleep
a creature comes to blaze like
a comet shooting, fanned to
conflagration by oppression–
on full-blown fire now, it is.

14 responses

  1. Is it a bird? A plane? The atomic bomb? What is “it?” (no, seriously I don’t know πŸ™‚ )

    08/04/2011 at 23:58

    • It’s the ember on fire again. πŸ™‚

      09/04/2011 at 00:04

      • It’s you! πŸ™‚ (You’re on fire? But why? πŸ™‚ )

        09/04/2011 at 00:20

      • Maybe it’s not you – you.. but maybe a part of you? Your creativity? But that has always been clearly not cold… A part of you that has been re-awakened? Gaaaah…maybe I’m reading too much into it.. πŸ™‚

        09/04/2011 at 00:28

  2. Haha. Let’s just read between the lines πŸ˜‰

    09/04/2011 at 00:27

    • I’m stupid. πŸ™‚ Anyhow, I just got reminded of a beautiful song by mae. Its called “Embers and Envelopes” … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ntj70vbKEI

      Hope you like it. πŸ™‚

      09/04/2011 at 00:34

      • No you’re not stupid, and no you’re not reading too much into it. Obviously I’m the ember in question πŸ˜‰

        Mae – great band! Where have I been? Thanks for introducing them to me. I like the video! I’ll check out their other songs.

        09/04/2011 at 00:50

  3. Mihir Vatsa

    WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO YOUR BLOG??? THATS THE FIRST QUESTION.

    And

    WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO YOUR BLOG??? THATS THE SECOND QUESTION.

    The poem is awesome by the way. 😐

    09/04/2011 at 01:21

    • Uh, nothing really. I just like the feel of this theme. It’s very “me”. I find the notepad background very cool and old-school. I miss writing on notebooks.

      09/04/2011 at 10:32

      • Mihir Vatsa

        😐

        Fine. Be happy!

        09/04/2011 at 17:40

  4. Beautiful poem, Michelle. My guess would be women in general, but of course it also applies to you in particular. I like to think that this year there’s a reloaded version of me walking the earth; I certainly feel more powerful than I’ve ever felt before. Maybe it’s a planetary alignment, or maybe the Mayans were right and a new era is about to begin.
    Anyway, power to use! Living one’s dreams is the best thing in the world :).

    09/04/2011 at 08:44

    • Yes, this is also about women in general.

      No, it’s not about planetary alignment, or the calendar of the Mayans. It’s about You, and how you’re going to make a difference in the world just by living your dreams with all your passion. It’s your time.

      You’re an ember on fire.

      09/04/2011 at 10:41

  5. thank you very, very much for your wonderful comment on my blog. πŸ™‚ you inspire me. πŸ™‚

    10/04/2011 at 14:30

    • OMG, did THE Bianca Gonzalez just visit my blog?! Your post about your teaching in Bilibid is laudable, and you are the one who is inspiring.

      Cheers πŸ™‚

      10/04/2011 at 18:14

Leave a Reply

