Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Me and Manila

I am the real city that never sleeps.

My businesses and affairs are open twenty-four/seven

and the people that go in and out of my revolving doors

never decreases in any given hour of the day. During the night,

most specially, the hustle and bustle of my thoughts on

Establishments and curiosity over the jaywalkers on the Streets

are wide and awake: where is the respect and discipline among

the learned, even with all my prized overpopulation?

Under the calm, starry but traitorous night sky

Bright Lights blind through my

nerves of steel, skyscraping declarations and highway

daredevilry, yet never will I blink and get carried away by

the Misleading Wink: I am the capital of this nation, the hope

that everybody puts a premium on, and even with my prominent

slums glazed with towering malls and busy districts drained

of brains for a better pay abroad still I am home, and with all

my orient pearls I’ll come out on top of this Third World.

14 responses

  1. Orient pearls, eh?

    I don’t like big cities. New Delhi sucks, for example. 😐

    11/04/2011 at 02:40

  2. Kristin Brænne

    11/04/2011 at 04:59

  3. Tbh I hated Manila during my first visit. But the second one I think I might consider moving there.

    11/04/2011 at 13:18

  4. This just goes to show that no matter how much we both want to travel and see the world, there is no place quite like home. 🙂

    Hurrah for city boys and city girls. 😉

    11/04/2011 at 15:56

    • People think that just because I want to travel the world I have a problem with our country. I’m a proud Filipino more than probably all those who wear these hip shirts that has the Philippine flag/map on them.

      Manilan, represent. 😉

      11/04/2011 at 19:16

      • Ice cream party with Reese’s! ❤

        11/04/2011 at 23:43

  5. Wow, what a poem.
    Way to go

    12/04/2011 at 20:50

  6. wow

    this is great..three stars and the sun!!! keep it up..

    13/04/2011 at 11:32

  7. This is great write…keep up your beautiful work!

    All the best
    Marinela

    Short Poems

    16/04/2011 at 01:09

Leave a Reply

