Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Tango – a villanelle

The room is getting smaller
As the sensual music starts to play,
It takes two to tango.

Circling around the dance floor
The spotlights following our sway,
The room is getting smaller.

Eye to eye, breaths getting deeper
Mists emanate from our fingers’ graze,
It takes two to tango
.

You give me a heady twirl,
I hurl you as though I just came –
The room is getting smaller.

In harmony with our footworks
In the end I’m dipped onto you all the way,
It takes two to tango.Β 

An expression of forbidden amor
Spoken through thisΒ 
body language –
The room is getting smaller,
It takes two to tango.

12 responses

  1. Have you been reading any Conchitina Cruz lately? This is the boldest thing I’ve ever read from you. πŸ˜‰ I don’t dance, but from what I read, the tango is a very sensual dance. Nice capture. πŸ™‚

    27/05/2011 at 01:09

    • Oh, I might be overcritical with this but in the line:

      “In harmony with our footworks”

      ‘Footwork’ is generally considered an uncountable noun so it should not have a plural form. πŸ™‚

      27/05/2011 at 01:45

      • I’ve heard of Conchita Cruz, but I haven’t really gotten around reading her works.

        Really, this is the boldest you’ve read from me? You should see my earliest posts.

        About “footworks” – thanks for reminding me.

        28/05/2011 at 10:41

  2. I have to say you are good, your details were immaculate!

    27/05/2011 at 01:12

  3. Pingback: Tango – a villanelle (via In Other Words) « Sober Your Mind

  4. Lovely dance!

    27/05/2011 at 17:57

  5. You did a fantastic job with this form.
    I really enjoyed this

    28/05/2011 at 08:29

  6. Dragan Karanovic

    Thank you for the experience. And the rhythm as well. I truly enjoyed dancing.

    28/05/2011 at 14:07

Leave a Reply

