Little Miss Homo Sapien's Cave

Reflection

I.
I build castles by the shore, but
they get washed away by the waves.
I build castles in the air, but
they get ravaged by the hard rains.

II.
These overlooking
skyscrapers and edifices
in the city landscape,
in the horizon drawing
linings that are from
from silver, rather
behind the low-lying
deathly overcast
they’re the turbulence
of the shallow river.
Spoliation is discounted,
so that it is the air that’s
exhaled. A smokescreen

to the bright lights-seeking
twisted moorings of the
Now, high technology
a madding crowd
automatons in
ties and bows, in raised
money-counting voices –
I AM BETTER THAN THOU.
You see this sports car,
my wife’s signature bags
my concubine’s blow jobs,

not too far away
two waifs burrow into
a garbage mound,
looking for something
edible to end a day
still too young. 

Progression? Hallucination.
You are pulled into a reflection
that will eventually
turns its back
on the mirror.

III.
Damned to self-love,
we call ourselves modern.

10 responses

  1. Matthew Van Ortton

    I like the design. Lovely engineered construction.
    I. pipe dream
    II. harsh reality
    III. back to normality

    09/06/2011 at 07:23

  2. Hope, despair, it’s all there!

    09/06/2011 at 09:09

    • Hope is not actually expressed in this piece. The readers are the hope here.

      11/06/2011 at 10:14

  3. I read your poetry and articles on my phone also, on my way to and from work, they all make me think outside the small box called my life, this is no exception. Very reflective in every sense of the word. Thanks!

    09/06/2011 at 10:43

  4. Pingback: Reflection (via In Other Words) « Sober Your Mind

  5. ‘Now, high technology
    a madding crowd
    automatons in
    ties and bows, in raised
    money-counting voices’

    ….i can hear them. I really enjoy reading your posts when they come up in my mail. thank you for sharing

    10/06/2011 at 11:26

  6. Beautifully morose. Just the kind of stuff I want to read at three in the morning. The last stanza of part II is my favorite. Thanks for sharing.

    23/06/2011 at 18:11

Leave a Reply

